Common visa zone for Belarus and Russia

Common visa zone for Belarus and Russia

Belarus and Russia fully agreed on a draft intergovernmental agreement on the mutual recognition of visas on Friday, 30 November.

It should resolve the issue of transit of citizens of third countries with Russian or Belarusian visas through the territory of both countries.

“It will work as a so-called mini-Schengen without the unification of visa rules,”  said Head of the Department for Citizenship and Migration Aleksei Begun.

It means that foreigners who have a visa of one country will be able to enter, leave, and stay in the other country as long as the visa is valid.

However, travelers entering Belarus and Russia as part of Belarus visa-free travel program will still be obliged to receive a visa to stay in Russia.